Create Your Engage URL
The settings for Engage are found by clicking the Engage button in the Web Ministry Tools Administration menu.
Choose a short name for your URL, enter it in the box on the Engage URL line, and hit Enter. The short name should be brief and easy to remember, but it should also easily and uniquely identify your church or organization. With engage.suran.com, this is the address that you will share with people so that they can access the features of Engage from their computers and mobile devices. The Engage short name must also be unique across all CDM+ customers who use Engage.
Once you have created your Engage URL, you will have two options.
- Edit: Allows the short name to be changed
- Open: Opens the Engage URL in a new tab
Enter your organization's name. This will appear on the login page and at the top of Engage on the desktop version of the site.
Individuals who have created Engage accounts and log in can have the ability to edit their contact information and have these changes stored in your CDM+ database. By checking the box labeled Allow members to change their information, you give anyone with an Engage account the ability to update their contact information: phone numbers, email addresses, and street or mailing addresses. This can be helpful for maintaining current contact information in your database.
If one or more persons, such as an office administrator, should be notified when individuals change their information from Engage, check the box for Notify staff for individual changes through Engage. Checking this box will open boxes labeled Email Addresses to notify staff of individual changes. Enter the email addresses, one per box, that you want to receive notification when changes are made through Engage.
Groups in Engage
Anyone who has your Engage URL can create an account and access Engage. However, access to information for individuals is controlled by the groups and lists for individuals in your CDM+ Database. That is, when a member who has a record in your database logs into their Engage account, they can see the groups of which they are members. If they tap on that group, they will see the other members of the group. They can then tap on an individual in the group to retrieve that person's contact information.
If someone creates an Engage account that results in the creation of new individual, address, and giving unit records, those new records will not be connected to any groups. As a result, this new Engage user will only be able to see their own contact information and none of the groups in your database. These will only be available to the user after you assign groups and codes to the new record.
You can allow access for all groups in your database by checking the Allow access to all groups box.
You may want to roll Engage out slowly to members of your congregation, or you may want to limit access to individuals with certain Membership Codes or who are members of certain groups. You can control this access by unchecking the box labelled Allow access to all groups.
Unchecking that box will display two columns. The left-hand column lists all the individual groups and codes in your CDM+ database. To allow access for that group in Engage, double-click the group name in the left-hand column. To remove access for a group, click on the group name in the right-hand column.
You can grant and remove access to entire Group Types at one time by double-clicking on the Group Type or Code name.
Save Your Changes
Use the Save Changes button at the bottom of the Engage Settings window to save your changes.
Changing Engage Settings
You can return to this page and make changes to your settings. For example you can change access to particular groups, or you can decide to allow Engage users to edit their contact information.